11/7/2018 10:22:50 AM

A Saugeen Shores teacher and an Owen Sound electrician have been recognized for their mentorship and commitment to students.
The Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program (OYAP) has announced this year's Barbara Wright Award winners.
Construction Technology Teacher at Saugeen District Secondary School (SDSS) in Port Elgin, Bud Halpin, has been awarded the 2018 Mentor in Education.
For several years, Halpin has run an off-site construction program where students can immerse themselves in the trades while working with different community partners
The 2018 Mentor From The Community has been awarded to Richard LeBlanc, owner of Dunn's Electric in Owen Sound and supporter of apprenticeships and cooperative education in the area.
The annual award is named after former OYAP Coordinator/Facilitator Barbara Wright, a longtime advocate and passionate supporter of skilled trades related programs for students in Grey Bruce.

Back to News

Copyright 2015 All rights reserved.

This site powered by PromoSuite Interactive